Home » Blog » Blog Day 2

Blog Day 2

Would you look at that?! I am writing two days in a row! A pattern is emerging (at least while I’m unemployed I had better have time to write). By the way, I love the interrobang (!? or ?!) and tend to overuse it. Along with parenthetical asides (like this),  em dashes—because I have to account for my highly tangential mind—and ellipses (but I usually just use these in emails and text messages). I often wonder how many other people have favorite punctuation marks. Or am I the only weirdo in this respect?!

Now I’m thinking about my favorite things (no, not raindrops on roses; however, whiskers on kittens are pretty awesome): color (olive green); food (nachos but I have to watch the cheese); song (the Jeff Buckley cover of Hallelujah and, more recently, any version of Lucio Dalla’s Caruso); number (6); and movie (Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris which, upon its release, surpassed Singing in the Rain which had been #1 for, like, 30 years). Christopher Nolan and Darren Aronofsky (except Noah which was AWFUL) are my favorite directors. My favorite word is plethora; however, ubiquitous and myriad aren’t far behind. Ted Bundy is my favorite serial killer (his sociopathy intrigues me). Favorite animals are cats, gorillas, and sharks.

I suppose that since I am a writer there should be some literary favorites, right?! Eats, Shoots, & Leaves by Lynn Truss and Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris are my favorite books. I love Richard Matheson’s short story Button Button. I idolize Stephen King and am particular to Edgar Allan Poe. As for literary quotes, I love “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart” by William Wordsworth and Paulo Coelho’s “Tears are words that need to be written.” In fact, I have both of these quotes as tattoos, along with Shakespeare’s “To sleep, perchance to dream.” Oh, and the word “write” on my wrist. I wonder if I can claim these on my taxes as advertising expenses.

I’d love to know some of your favorites. Leave yours as a comment and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

