Home » Blog » Based on a Precipice

Based on a Precipice

It’s funny, even though I write numerous blogs for others, when it comes to my own, I am often at a loss for topics. I don’t want to bore my wonderful readers with the prosaic details of my daily existence, and when I get a stroke of creativity, I (lately) funnel that energy into writing poetry which I then proudly disseminate on Prose and Twitter.

I did compose an entry a few nights ago about reality TV show cliffhangers (bear with me), and while I thought I had hit the “publish” button, alas, it was nowhere to be found. Gone for all eternity in the blogosphere of lost entries (kind of like Rudolph’s Island of Misfit Toys). Of course, I failed to compose my mini-masterpiece in MS Word so I could periodically save it, so, well, yeah.

I basically discussed how the America’s Got Talent episode aired earlier this week ended with a cliffhanger, with the announcer promising, “an act so [insert superlative] you won’t want to miss it!” I then provided the definition of the word “cliffhanger” which, thanks to Dictionary.com, is:

melodramatic adventure serial in which each installment ends in suspense in order to interest the reader or viewer in the next installment.

I explained how competition reality shows like the Got Talent franchises are, indeed, melodramatic thanks to certain judges’ paucity of people skills, the highly coveted golden buzzer, and some truly horrendous auditions by misguided contestants who apparently do not understand what “talent” means. These shows are also adventurous with acts such as the Russian Bar Trio (seriously, watch them!), tightrope walkers, sword swallowers, and the 57-year old daredevil hand balancer the Amazing Sladek. And finally, these programs are, in fact, serials as they continue from one week to the next.

Thus, I justified that a cliffhanger can, and did, in fact, exist after the last episode and how I can’t wait until Tuesday night!

I also made mention of the atrocious 1993 Stallone film Cliffhanger that was—and I have never forgotten this—based on a premise (by John Long).

 

Leave a Reply

