Home » Blog » Fortified With…

Fortified With…

Let’s talk about breakfast, shall we?

I was writing haiku and asked my younger daughter for a topic. “Waffles,” she uttered.

This got me thinking. First of all, I’m kind of hungry but it’s 10 p.m. and not a good time for a nosh. Secondly, Eggo blueberry waffles with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light is, perhaps, one of my favorite breakfasts of all time (and doesn’t aggravate my lactose-intolerant system). My daughter is enamored with over-easy eggs and grits, the latter over which she pours the yolks. It is actually quite good, but not something I would want to consume every day.

I’m also quite partial to oatmeal. I love the restaurant-style, slow-cooked ones that are all thick and gooey. But since I have very little patience, I resort to the microwavable Quaker Oats packets. Only original flavor, mind you, with either salt or brown sugar and walnuts/pecans on it. I’m not a fan of the fruity flavors and cannot stand maple-flavored anything. In fact, when I eat pancakes, I only put margarine on them. No syrup. Ever. Yuck. The same goes for cinnamon. The smell literally makes me physically ill. So no brown sugar and cinnamon packets either.

I used to eat a lot of cereal but haven’t in quite a while. Grape Nuts (which my older daughter calls “Gravel Nuts”), Kashi Go Lean Crunch, and Special K Red Berries were (I guess they still are) my favorites. I’m not sure when I stopped reaching for the spoon and bowl. Probably because almond/cashew/coconut/soy milk is pretty expensive and tends to spoil before I finish it (even though it expires, like, three months after purchase). I suppose my anti-cereal shift came about with my last job where I had to awaken at 5:45 a.m., get ready, and go. As I am not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination, those days my entire breakfast consisted of a protein bar which I ate in the car whilst driving to work. I would occasionally indulge in cold cereal for dinner but, again, the whole expensive expired faux milk problem remained.

Since I am currently unemployed and writing all day (for free, for pay, for maintaining my mental acuity), I could probably revisit my former breakfast friends.

But there are two boxes of waffles in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

