Home » Blog » Where’s My Sharpie?

Where’s My Sharpie?

Every once in a while most writers (at least I think this is the case) write something so unique, profound, important, whatever, that they, themselves, are excited. While I appreciate all of my eclectic pieces from short stories to essays to poems to articles, today I believe I surpassed them all.

I am a regular contributor to Prose, an online community of writers where members post challenges. I enjoy these challenges because they provide me a much-needed prompt to get my creative juices flowing since I have chronic topical writer’s block. One of the new challenges for today was simply the word “silence.”

Now, most normal people would take this to mean silence as peace, quiet, stillness, lull, etc. Not me (largely because I have a problem being quiet in the first place). My mind immediately drifted to Doctor Who, a British science fiction serial that has been on the air since 1963; however, I have only been a fan since the 2005 reboot with Christopher Eccleston as the Ninth Doctor. Subsequent seasons starred David Tennant, Matt Smith, and Peter Capaldi as the 10th, 11th, and 12th Doctors, respectively (unless you count the War Doctor, played impressively by Sir John Hurt but the narrative becomes rather confusing so if you want more information, Wikipedia to the rescue!)

Anyway, today’s excitement occurred with a sonnet I penned entitled “Subliminal” about the Silence of Doctor Who, a group of alien religious zealots that resemble (according to creator Stephen Moffat) a cross between Edvard Munch’s The Scream and the Will Smith-Tommy Lee Jones film Men in Black. Briefly, they want to take over the Earth and use mind control to further their goals. Once people stop looking at the Silence, they forget about them and, hence, resort to inking tally marks upon their skin as a reminder of sorts. Again, for those who desire more information, here you go.

So, if you are a Doctor Who fan (or even if you aren’t and just enjoy reading my work), I invite you to take a look and comment.

Leave a Reply

