Home » Blog » Complete and Utter Randomness

Complete and Utter Randomness

While taking a break from writing, I thought I would write. Quite paradoxical, indeed. (Don’t try to think about it, just accept it.) I made the most delicious lunch and felt an overwhelming urge to share it with the world (not the lunch itself, just my review), or, more accurately, with the handful of people who actually read this blog.

First, let me extol the virtues of MorningStar Farms veggie cuisine. For those of you who have never read a single thing I have written in the past year or so, I have been a vegetarian for nearly 16 months. Anyway, I particularly love their buffalo “chicken” patties. Buffalo chicken wings are one of the few meaty foods I truly miss. Buffalo patties and ranch dressing are almost reminiscent of boneless chicken wings. But cut up into a kale salad…I have created one of my new favorite meals. Kale, avocado, scallions, buffalo “chicken” patties, pumpkin seeds, and ranch dressing. Truly delectable. I can assume some of you may be wrinkling your nose as you read, but hey, don’t knock it until you try it!

Another topic on my mind is my taxes. I am not a procrastinator by any stretch of the imagination; however, I still need to file mine for last year. Of course, if I was eligible for a refund, that return would have been in the mail in early February. Since I’m not, I’d just like to thank the IRS for extensions. Granted, the first part of my year was truly trying and difficult and I needed the extra time to somewhat normalize, but now, with therapy and refills on my psych meds, I am mostly able to accomplish some things. I’ve written mountains of poetry and published my books, after all. But taxes. Yuck. So instead of holding a perpetual staring contest with the stack of receipts, medical bills, W-2’s and that bright blue and orange Turbo Tax box I have placed within constant purview of my computer, I have decisively told myself I’m going to get them done by the end of the month. However, since nobody really listens to what I say (especially me), AND not having specified the end of which month, I suppose the staring contest will continue.

Leave a Reply

